China travel guide


Wuhan Travel Guide

Wuhan Travel Guide

Wuhuan is the capital of Hubei province, and is the most populous town in central China. Located at the east of Jianghan Plain, and the intersection of the middle reaches of the Yangtze and Han River.

The city of Wuhan is known as the "thoroughfare of 9 provinces. Nowadays is a major transportation hub, with dozens of railways, expressways and roads passing through the town.

Wuhan, first termed as such in 1927, has a population around of 9,100,000 people during the 2006, with about 6,100,000 residents in its metropolitan area.

Formerly, the city of Wuhan was the capital of a leftist Kuomintang goverment led by Wang Jingwei in opposition to Chiang Kai-shek. Nowadays Wuhan is recognized as the cultural, economic, political, educational and financial of central China.

The city of Wuhan is amalgamation of 3 smaller towns: Wuchang, Hankou and Hanyang, all separated from the other by a river.

Wuhan has several bridges, the number one Chang River Bridge, it is the oldest, this open for both rail and automobile traffic, the number two Changjiang River Bridge, currently only open to automobile traffic And it connects with Hankou to the north.

There are 2 major bridges on Han River shuttling between Hanyang and Hankou, these 2 bridges are within sight of each other, only automobile traffic. The number 3 Chang River Bridge, connects the outskirts of Wuchang with the outskirts of Hanyang to the distant south.

Hanyang was a busy port, during the Han Dynasty. Yellow Crane Towe was first built in 223BCE and quickly became a famous building in China. Wuchang was a center of learning during centuries, especially in the field of the arts.

• CPC Wuhan: Miao wei
• Mayor: Li xiansheng

Time zone:
• China Standard Time (UTC+8)

Fast Facts:
• Postal code 430000
• Area code(s) +86/27

History of Wuhan

Compare hotel rates and availability

About us | Contact us | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy | Legal Terms

© 2005 - 2021 - All Rights Reserved.