China travel guide


Beijing Travel Guide

Beijing History

In beginnings of Beijin were that of a trading city for the tribes in Shandong and central China as well as the Mongols and Koreans. Beijing was the capital of the Yan Kingdom during the Warring States (475-221BC).

In the Warring States, the Marquis of Yan annexed the territory of the Marquis of Ji, making the town of Ji its new capital. During the thrid century BC, the first Emperor of Qin set about conquering six states and unifying China.

In that time the town of Ji was named administrative center of Guangyang Commandery (military center).

During that period, Emperor Taizong of the Tang Dynasty and Emperor Yang of the Sui Dynasty (581 - 618), left their mark on the town.

Emperor Yang amassed troops and supplies at Ji for excursions against Korea. Emperor Taizong too used the town for military training and too built the temple for compassion for the Loyal (Minzhongsi), which was dedicated to troops who died in battle.

History of the Forbidden City

History of the Forbidden City
It was part of the Imperial city during the Mongol Yuan Dynasty.

During the establishment of the Ming Dynasty, the Hongwu Emperor moved the capital from Beijing (north) to Nanjing (south), and ordered that the Mongol palaces be razed.

When his son Zhu Di became the Yongle Emperor, he moved the capital to Beijing, and in 1496 construct the Forbidden City.

It approximately lasted 15 years with more of one million workers.

The Forbidden city was constructed under the ancient rules of spatial design. The ancient rules was used previously in the building of the town of Chang AN. These ancient rules specified that the main buildings should be aligned throughout a straight axis of the south to the north.

The Forbidden City is surrounded by a wall of 7.9-metre high with 8.62 metres wide at the base and a 6-metre deep, 52-metre wide moat.

The walls was used as defensive walls and retaining walls for the palace and the towers more visible of the palace are the Pavilion of Prince Teng and The Yellow Crane Pavilon.

The Forbidden City was declared a World Heritage Site in 1987 by UNESCO as the "Imperial Palace of the Ming & Qing Dynasties", due to its significant place in the development of Chinese culture and architecture.

About us | Contact us | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy | Legal Terms

© 2005 - 2021 - All Rights Reserved.